"The discovery of a new dish is more precious to human beings than the discovery of a new star"- Brillat-Savarin "One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one hasn't eaten well" - Virginia Wolf "The cuisine of a country is the only exact attestation of its civilization" - Anonymous "No poem was ever written by a drinker of water" - Horace, Roman poet. "Cheese - milk's leap toward immortality." - Clifton Fadiman
Gratzzi Italian Grille
211 2nd Street South Saint Petersburg, FL 33701
727 623 9037 (Reservations)
If you're craving classic Italian food in a classy environment, Gratzzi Italian Grille is the place to eat. Choose from your favorite sultry pasta, meat dishes, including chicken, seafood and veal among others. Gratzzi's menu offers an array of feasts to satisfy your Italian cravings, which also includes classic insalatas and paninis for lunch and dinner.

Trip Adviser 2014 Award of Excellence (Click for larger version.)

Read the great review from Creative Loafing -
"Make yourself at home with Gratzzi"

Via Email, (June 30, 2012) from Jill Olpinski, Homosassa, FL -

Tony, I was in there just by chance on the 8th with my Mom, who came in from Oregon for a graduation. I live up in Homosassa FL. We are originally from New Jersey. The reason why I am mentioning logistics is because we both love and miss real Italian food. We ordered the Baked Ziti and fell in love. The bread was perfect and the meal was excellent. Needless to say I am coming back to St. Pete for the weekend and am definitely dining in. My biggest decision is going to be to get the wonderful Ziti again or try something new.

Once again my compliments to the Chef!

Gratzzi's Philosophy

Domenic D'Angelo, proprietor and Tony Mangiafico, Executive Chef/proprietor, welcome you to Gratzzi Italian grille, where beautiful décor and centuries old recipes accompany culinary innovations to produce a true delight of the senses. Domenic and Tony have crafted a menu that appeals to all palates from homemade pasta dishes, classical veal and poultry, delightful seafood, aged beef and many more innovative creations. Paired with a wine selection from our extensive list, you are sure to have the experience of a lifetime.

At Gratzzi, our philosophy is simple. Only the best ingredients the culinary world has to offer makes it onto our tables. We use 100% extra virgin olive oil, buffalo milk mozzarella, milk fed veal, black angus beef, fresh local produce and seafood and the finest imported products from Italy.

We are entirely dedicated to providing our guests with the very finest quality cuisine, exceptional service and genuine Italian hospitality. Whether it is Domenic's hand that greets you at the front door or Chef Tony's hands that prepare your fare, the artisan skill of generations is hard at work. You'll be welcomed and catered to from the first sip of wine to the innovative culinary creations, right down to the Limoncello you'll receive at the end of your memorable experience. That's what Gratzzi is all about, a memorable Italian dining experience.

We make all of this possible by giving our team every resource imaginable to offer superior cuisine and service in extraordinary environment. We are proud of our wonderfully diverse and incredibly talented staff and they're proud to be part of the Gratzzi family.

We can accommodate up to 40 people in our private dining room. We can provide the room for luncheons, dinners, seminars, and even your breakfast events.

Off premise catering and takeout are also available, from simple delivery of food trays to any imaginable food you wish to have for your special occasion.

Here are some reviews from Urban Spoon

Fantastic!
by Carol (2 reviews)
May 08, 2011 - Really likes it
We had the pleasure of dining last evening at Gratzzi's. The food was excellent and the service and atmosphere likewise. We can't wait to go back!

1 person recommends this review Recommend

I love Gratzzi.
by imcoolerthanyourface (3 reviews)
May 02, 2011 - Really likes it
Gratzzi italian grille is awesome, i was there this past saturday , the place was packed!!!However , i had a seat within 10 minutes ,and what a great meal i had!!
 

I had the Gratzzi burger with mushrooms, my friend had the chicken parmigiana, both very good !!For the dessert we had the tiramisu and cannolis, the tiramisu was amazing , garnished with fresh fruit and rasperry sauce, just out of this world!!Good job Gratzzi and we will see you next week !!

1 person recommends this review Recommend

+ 2 more comments by imcoolerthanyourface

New Location, New Look and better then Bella Brava
by Brian Ford (20 reviews)
April 09, 2011 - Really likes it
It is with great pleasure that I am writing this review. Last night we were celebrating David birthday. We made the choice to check out Gratzzi. I am so glad we did. We visited the old location several years ago, and to be honest it wasn't that great and very overpriced.

At the new location, you can feel the change the second you walk in the door. I feel like you stepped into a bistro in Italy, when in fact you are downtown St. Petersburg.

Before setting down for dinner, we sat at the bar and had martinis. The bartender Rose was the sweetest and really knows how to mix a drink.

We were seated in the dining room for our dinner. The dining room as a very warm and welcoming feeling to it. Tables lined with crisp white linens and a great view of our city.

Our server, Kris came to the table and really made us feel right at home. It became very clear that he really enjoys what he does and he is an outstanding server!!

They have adjusted their prices and their menu to be able to welcome more than just the very high end customers. We started our meal with Grissini Lollipops. These are bread sticks that are wrapped with mascarpone cheese and prosciutto, OMG was it good.

I ordered the Bistecca Fiorentina, this is an 18oz Porterhouse that was prepared with cipolline onions, cremini mushrooms and topped with oak aged balsamic glaze. This has become one of my most favorites. The flavor that comes on this plate is one that you will never forget!!

David ordered Cavatelli Bada Bing... This is served table side and is so tasty. The homemade pasta is flamed with vodka in a well-aged parmesan wheel with prosciutto, tomatoes and basil. This was outstanding.

To close the meal they brought to the table the most delightful tirma mi su that I have ever had.

To close, this was a great choice for dinner and I look forward to returning to try more of their offerings. If you are looking for a great Italian Restaurant that is affordable, look no further, just go to Gratzzi Italian Grill, you will be glad you did!!!!

3 people recommend this review Recommend

The Complete Package
by hench1 (12 reviews)
May 07, 2011 - Likes it
We had a wonderful experience last night at Gratzzi's. From the appetizers to the wine to the main courses to the outstanding service, Gratzzi Italian Grille is now on my list of favorites.

The main courses we had were Veal Saltinbocci, Veal Paramsian, Sea Bass and a pasta salad-all delicious. The calamari appetizer was very tasty and the almondetto creme broulee was outstanding.

The service couldn't have been better. Very attentive without being intrusive-the best service I've had anywhere in a long time.

The atmosphere was very pleasant and this is a very well run restaurant, one that I would highly recommend.

Recommend

Good Italian Food
by frank (1 review)
May 02, 2011 - Likes it
I have dined at gratzzi few times for the last 3 months, and i must say it gets better and better, i grewn up eating italian food and Gratzzi does an outsatanding job.Last friday i had the half chicken with fettucini and puncetta, and it was outstanding, my wife had the seabass also very good.However , last time the bartender was better and more charming, hopefully it was just her day off , but very personalable bartender and charming, i believe her name was Shannon, the new bartender behind the bar seemed very cold, but besides that the restaurant runs flawless and the food is just incredible.I suggest reservations on the weekend, i was there this past friday with none and i had to wait 30 minutes, which was fine for me.

Recommend

New menu & location
by vgonzalez2034 (675 reviews)
April 11, 2011 - Likes it
But still quality food and superb service.

Started with a cold martini while we looked over the wine and dinner menus. Ended up letting the waiter pick a nice sangiovese for us then started with the grissini lollipops ($8)and the garlic pagnotta ($6). Both were delicious.

For dinner we decided to try a capricciosa pizza made with ham, cooked eggs, msuhroom, kalamata olives, and fresh basil ($11) and the insalate caprese ($7)

The pizza was soooo good. It's personal sized but can be split by two easliy with a side salad or soup.

The service was spectacular. Next time I'll be trying the homemade gnocchi and hubby already has his meal planned as well.

SO glad they moved to a new location!

1 person recommends this review Recommend

Very, very good
by Timmy (4 reviews)
April 04, 2011 - Likes it
Very nice place. Very good food at very reasonable prices. Great place for a business lunch. I have been back several times.

Recommend

even better the 2nd visit
by getaway59 (5 reviews)
March 17, 2011 - Likes it
My husband and I went to Gratzzi a few weeks ago on an actual date. I like the atmosphere of this new location; it definitely has a metropolitan feel to it. We were promptly seated and our drink orders taken quickly. The beautiful barkeep Shannon made excellent skinny Margaritas. Our server, Kris, was extremely conscientious and his menu suggestions were knowledgeable and spot on to what I liked to eat. I love the food at this place. Even though a restaurant review is not the place to rhapsodize over the restrooms, I just have to say again how the décor of the ladies' room makes it a pleasure to visit. The sinks are so unique and beautiful!

Recommend

+ 1 more comment by getaway59

Phone mobile review
by Local (23 reviews)
March 04, 2011 - Likes it
What a fantastic experience dining here!!! The food was sublime, delicious, and full of flavorful love. The salads made table side (love that) are mixed together in a wheel of parmesean!! What?!?! We loved that. The mussels are succulent and juicy. The sauce is worth asking for more bread before they get delivered to the table. And of course you can't leave without having an espresso or a limoncello apertif. Genius! Felt like I was in Toronto's Little Italy. Yum!

1 person recommends this review Recommend

AWESOME FOOD!!
by the BEAST (1 review)
February 07, 2011 - Likes it
very nice decor, beautiful bar, excellent margherita pizza, and a nice menu selection, one of the best in the tampa bay area.
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST
Email 
First Name 
Last Name 
Mobile Phone